Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Skinner Street staff nominated for the 'Kent Teacher of The Year' Awards!

Skinner Street staff nominated for the 'Kent Teacher of The Year' Awards!
Skinner Street staff nominated for the 'Kent Teacher of The Year' Awards!

Some exciting news to share from Oasis Academy Skinner Street, three members of staff from this Gillingham school have been nominated for the Kent Teacher of The Year Awards for their hard work and dedication. Principal Victoria Richmond is delighted and proud to announce that Operations Manager Mrs L Saddleton has been invited to collect her award in May! The following members of staff could be announced as winners of the awards very soon.

Debbie Davies Year 1:

To continue celebrating the amazing work at Oasis Academy Skinner Street we are proud to share Mrs Davies has been nominated for the Kent Teacher of the Year Awards 2023.

The nomination form parent recognised that she always goes above and beyond for all the children. Mrs Davies makes all the children feel comfortable and welcomed as well as running the award winning eco club.

Colleagues nominated Mrs Davies as she is one of the strong foundations the Academy is built upon. She works relentless to improve the academy, community and the world for our pupils. Leading the Eco-Squad to multiple green awards and encouraging enthusiasm and dedication for improving the environment. Mrs Davies is an advocate for pupil and parent voice.

Mrs Davies gives her up own time to arrange events and support others within the community. A keen Park run member who delights when she sees pupils old and new racing her or even completing on a international stage. She has inspired more pupils than we will ever know and we are so lucky to have her.

Dayan Pratts Year 4:

Parents have nominated Mr Pratts as he is an amazing teacher. He goes above and beyond for all of his students individually and as a class. He is very supportive of all the children and makes them feel very relaxed when they are at school. At lunchtime Mr Pratts sits with children and talks to them. Mr Pratts ensures all children at school feel safe and listened to.

Mr Pratts colleagues wholehearted support this nomination. Mr Pratts is an amazing teacher who always has the wellbeing of his pupils at the core of his decision making. Since joining the academy he has been a ray of sunshine in everyone's lives, he truly embodies our 9 habits and ethos. Mr Pratts is adored by his pupils who excel due to the positive relationships they have, his classroom is inviting and inclusive and all are welcome. Mr Pratts is a shining example of the difference a good teacher can make on a child's life.

Leonie Saddleton Operations Manager:

The community nominated Mrs Saddleton as she us always around with a happy smiley face, every question/query we have she goes out of her way to find the answers as soon as she can. Mrs Saddleton also listens to any concerns and makes sure they are dealt with in the appropriate manner.

Mrs Saddleton's colleagues also recognised the amazing contribution she makes to the Academy with the following supporting statement:

"It is simply impossible to list all of the ways Mrs Saddleton supports the whole community at Skinner Street. Mrs Saddleton brings joy and enthusiasm to all that she does always having the best interests of others at the core of decision making. Mrs Saddleton offers guidance and support to everyone and is a font of knowledge. As well as supporting our local community Mrs Saddleton also supports in the wider trust stepping in at a moments notice and saving the day.

Mrs Saddleton has driven improvements in practice and has improved the efficiency of processes across Health and Safety and HR. This has resulted in better workload for her team and increased economic efficiency. Mrs Saddleton's team have become more efficient in their practice thorough her guidance and support. Her investment in us all and sharing of her experience has been nothing sort of transformational."

Skinner Street staff nominated for the 'Kent Teacher of The Year' Awards!
Himali Dolatessim